A Song of Sorts

I bare my soul tonight
And every night until I die;
I’ve got nothing to hide.

I have no fears of my own;
My fears lie in the unknowns
That lurk out of sight.

All the things that don’t matter
That we talk about for hours
And the things that do
That we never do.

It’s not my secrets that I fear,
But yours.
It’s not your dreams that will shatter,
But mine.

And I am never too far,
Never out of reach,
Unlike you and your selective ways.

And your unknowns that lurk out of sight.

All the things that don’t matter
That we talk about for hours
And the things that do
That we never do.

We will go where you will lead us,
Be it up or to the depths of hell,
Or maybe somewhere in between
Where I have always been.

Unseen. Unclean.

Just another picture frame
Sitting on the mantle of forgottens.
Just another walk of shame
Down this familiar road of almosts.
That I have often trodden.

All the things that don’t matter
That we talked about for hours
And the things that did
That we never did.

That we never did.

