Changed

I am amazed by how you are amazed at my lack of amazement.

I am amazed at how you think this is unnatural;
That I am being strange.

You have changed, and thus,
I have changed, and thus,
“We” are now forever
Changed.

We used the same beacon to light our path
Once.
We shared a destiny, and hopes
Once.

But you have changed, and thus,
I have changed, and thus,
“We” are now forever
Changed.

I now light my path with fireflies,
And I tread alone
On its unknown
Destination.

Fearlessly,
I have shed your burdens from my shoulders,
And I now walk in solitude,

Lighter than ever.

I am sombre, yet content.
I am hopeful towards the mystic,
Enjoying the unknowns,
Not seeking,
Not wanting.

Just living
Today today.

I have changed, and thus,
I am natural, un-strange,
But not in the eyes of the beholder.

Because “we” are now forever
Changed.

 

Walking with fireflies

